• Recent Posts

  • Archives

    • 2,232
  • RANDIROBOT

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Chapter One – Facing Fear and Finding Freedom

I was dying for something new to read so Brendan gave me this awesome book to read called Approval Addiction by Joyce Meyer. It a book split into three parts to help people get over their need for approval. This is something I have struggled with my WHOLE life. I feel the constant need to be perfect and I can be very controlling and insecure sometimes. This struggle was still there even after I accepted Christ. In fact, I feel like it has gotten a lot worse because I think I must be perfect all the time for even more reasons. I realize that I have a very backwards way of thinking and approaching situations because of this need to be perfect. This book looks really good so I decided I am going to read a chapter every day and just put down some notes.

Introduction
Ephesians 3:17 – be secure through Jesus
2 Corinthians 5:21 – who I am in Christ
Ephesians 2:10 – recreated in Christ
Isaiah 54:17 – inheritance
Philippians 3:3 – look to Jesus not ourselves
Romans 14:17 – I am a child of God

The Devil likes to remind us of what we are not. But we have Jesus, our hope and savior. Hebrews 12:2 says to look away from all the distractions and focus on Christ. We will find deliverence from condemnation, defeat and inadequency.

Part One – Accepting Who We Are
Chapter One – Facing Fears and Finding Freedom
If you were hurt and wounded by people who are difficult to please, you may think God is  the same way, but simple, childlike faith pleases Him (this is so me!)
If you struggle with trying to please God with perfect behavior, you will always fail
What Must I Do To Please God?
Number 1: Have faith in Jesus, Number 2: Desire to please Him
Christians are called believers, not achievers
Trust God’s words more than your own feelings
It’s not our performance it is our faith in Jesus (Ephesians 1:6)
Desiring To Please Him In All Things
A desire to please God is a neccessity. He doesn’t look at our perfect behavior, but our perfect hearts (2 Chronicles 16:9)
We are to love God with our spirit and in reality (John 4:23-24)
The Thing I Fear Comes Upon Me
The worst things Job feared came to pass (Job 3:25)
Unto us is what we believe; self-fulfilling profecy (Matthew 9:29)
Fear is simply belief in what Satan says (John 8:44)
We actually become displeasing to God when we manifest that behavior
Being mistreated causes you to think you have flaws, that you are unacceptable, and makes you feel ashamed
God Loves Us
Romans 12:2 – the renewal our minds; we can think differently
Proverbs 23:7 – mind and behavior are different
I must aggressively expect good things and expect acceptance from others
Insecurity and other feelings steal the blessing of God’s acceptance
Say this everyday: “God loves me unconditionally and is pleased with me!”
You Are No Surprise To God
God knows the end from the beginning of everything (Isaiah 46:10)
No matter what we do, we will never lose value in God’s eyes (Psalm 139:1-4)
Imperfect people can pray and God will still listen (James 5:17-18)
God is willing to work through us and show how strong he is
His strength is in our weakness (2 Corinthians 12:9)
There is no need to run away, just use the power of the Holy Spirit!

Leave a Reply

